Latest News

Swieqi United conclude 2018-19 Season with Awards Night

24.06.19 Swieqi United conclude 2018-19 Season with Awards Night

Swieqi United capped off a memorable 2018-19 season with the Club's annual Awards Night, held yesterday evening at the Trophies Lounge, Ta' Qali National Stadium.

Dr Matthew Borg, who hosted the ceremony, opened proceedings by showing guests a video clip showcasing highlights from the Club's first ten years in local football, before giving a brief introduction about the ethos of the Club.

Club President Dr Justin Fenech then took to the floor and affirmed how although ten years have passed since the Club's formation, it has come on in leaps and bounds since its origins. Going forward the Club had to stay true to its values, its community and its philosophy. "Our strength does not come from wealth but rather from hard work, organisation and the people that make our vision a reality”. He concluded by saying that with everyone pulling the same rope he was more than ready to lead this club onto bigger and greater things in the coming years.

Dr Matthew Paris, Vice-President of the Malta Football Association, also had some nice words to say about the Club, stating that Swieqi United is the proper definition of a success story and that if the Club continued to operate in the manner that it operated, with a solid structure in place, the Club would continue to progress accordingly.

Noel Muscat, Mayor of Swieqi, also gave a short speech, whereby he stated that what the Club has managed to do is give a sense of community to all its members, as well as foster an identity for the locality of Swieqi. He continued to augur the Club further success in the future.

The awards for various squads were then presented. The winners in each category were the following:

U15 Squad:
Most dedicated: Kyle Cachia 
Most improved: Matthew Portelli 
Most promising: Jack Law
Players' Player of the Year: Tom Attard Fenech 

U17 Squad:
Most dedicated: Timmy Naudi 
Most improved: Kyle Muscat
Most promising: Timmy Bonello 
Players' Player of the Year: James Grech 

U19 Squad:
Most dedicated: Luke Zammit 
Most improved: Andy Abela 
Most promising: Luke Gatt 
Players' Player of the Year: Gary Bugeja 

Women's U19 Squad:
Most dedicated: Mandy Caruana 
Most improved: Nicole Saliba 
Most promising: Silvanne Caruana 
Players' Player of the Year: Nicole Saliba 

Futsal U21 Squad:
Most dedicated: Denzil Pisani 
Most improved: Robert Stoyanov 
Most promising: Clyde Aquilina
Players' Player of the Year: Clyde Aquilina 

Futsal Seniors' Squad:
Most dedicated: Leo de Souza
Most improved: Stefan Camilleri 
Most promising: Leo Muscat 
Players' Player of the Year: Maxi Navarro 

Women's Senior Squad:
Most dedicated: Simone Buttigieg 
Most improved: Emma Zammit 
Most promising: Celeste Grech 
Players' Player of the Year: Celeste Grech 

Men's Senior Squad:
Most dedicated: Melvin Farrugia 
Most improved: Kristian Sultana
Most promising: Kyle Muscat
Players' Player of the Year: Ion Alin Margarit 

Club Ambassador Squad:
Mark Chetcuti 
Marin Babanov 
Noel Muscat 

Special Award:
Untangled Media
Logix Creative 
Cavalieri Art Hotel 

President's Award:
Mark Zammit 

MFA Presidential candidates Bjorn Vassallo and Dr Chris Bonett attended the event and wished the Club the best of luck in the years to come. 

A reception was then held afterwards for all attendees at the Trophies Lounge, capping off an enjoyable evening for all and a memorable season at the Club.

Article: Matthew Borg 
Photo credit: Mark Chetcuti

< Back to News